Enter Number
Choose the cell that you want to enter numbers into. You can just type the number that you want or you can go up to the Formula Bar and type it in.
Exit Excel
You can either go up to the Microsoft Office Button and click Exit Excel, or you can simply click the X at the far right corner.
Fill Series - Drag and Drop
Choose the cell that you want to be dragged and dropped. At the bottom right corner of the cell itself, when you put your mouse over it, the arrow turns into a cross. Once you see a cross, click and drag it to where you want the cell to be copied. The gray outline is where you can tell which cells you are applying the drag and drop method to.
Font Size
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to modify. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font Size arrow and choose the size that you want.
Fonts
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to modify. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font arrow and choose the Font that you want.Function - Autosum
Choose the cell(s) that you want to apply Autosum to. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Autosum button (it looks like a backwards 3/a strange looking E)
Go To
In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Find & Select button and choose Go To from the list. When the dialog box comes up, choose the on that you want to go to, then click OK.
Help - Display Help Contents
At the top right corner is a blue question mark. Click on it to bring up the Help dialog box. Once there, click on the Show Table of Contents button (the purple book icon). The side opens up to the Table of Contents options.
Help - Search
At the top right corner is a blue question mark. Click on it to bring up the Help dialog box. You can type what you want to search in the search box.
Modify Formula
In the Formula Bar, you can change the cells and formulas by typing in the cells that you want or the formula that you want.
Friday, January 15, 2010
Excel Tasks 1-10
Apply Style
Choose the cell(s) that you want to apply the style to. In the Home tab, go to the Styles group. Click on the Cell Styles button and a list should come up. Click on the style that you want and Excel will automatically apply it to the active cell.
AutoCorrect
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then go down and click on the Excel Options button. When the dialog box comes up, click on the Proofing tab. Once you there, click on the AutoCorrect Options button. When that dialog box comes up, you can make any modifications that you want.When you're done, click OK.
Bold Cell Contents
Choose the cell(s) that you want to bold. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Bold button.
Cell Formatting - Remove
Choose the cell(s) that you want to remove the formatting from. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Clear button, then choose Clear Formats from the list.
Center Across Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to center. In the Home tab, go to the Cells group. Click on the Format button, then choose Format cells from the list. When the dialog box comes up, go to the Alignment tab. Under Text alignment, click on the arrow under Horizontal and choose Center Across Selection. Click OK when you're done.
Chart - Create
In the Insert tab, go to the Charts group. Choose what you want to enter (you can pick Column, Pie, Bar, etc.).
Clear Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to clear. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Clear button, then choose Clear Contents from the list.
Color Text
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to color. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Then click on the Font Color arrow. Choose the color that you want to apply to the text.
Copy Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to copy. In the Home tab, go to the Clipboard group. Click on the Copy button.
Create New Workbook Blank
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then choose New. Choose Blank Workbook, then click OK.
Choose the cell(s) that you want to apply the style to. In the Home tab, go to the Styles group. Click on the Cell Styles button and a list should come up. Click on the style that you want and Excel will automatically apply it to the active cell.
AutoCorrect
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then go down and click on the Excel Options button. When the dialog box comes up, click on the Proofing tab. Once you there, click on the AutoCorrect Options button. When that dialog box comes up, you can make any modifications that you want.When you're done, click OK.
Bold Cell Contents
Choose the cell(s) that you want to bold. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Bold button.
Cell Formatting - Remove
Choose the cell(s) that you want to remove the formatting from. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Clear button, then choose Clear Formats from the list.
Center Across Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to center. In the Home tab, go to the Cells group. Click on the Format button, then choose Format cells from the list. When the dialog box comes up, go to the Alignment tab. Under Text alignment, click on the arrow under Horizontal and choose Center Across Selection. Click OK when you're done.
Chart - Create
In the Insert tab, go to the Charts group. Choose what you want to enter (you can pick Column, Pie, Bar, etc.).
Clear Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to clear. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Clear button, then choose Clear Contents from the list.
Color Text
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to color. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Then click on the Font Color arrow. Choose the color that you want to apply to the text.
Copy Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to copy. In the Home tab, go to the Clipboard group. Click on the Copy button.
Create New Workbook Blank
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then choose New. Choose Blank Workbook, then click OK.
Tuesday, January 12, 2010
News Report
Well, first of all, I looked in CNN.com, and after an hour of looking through articles that didn't interest me, I finally found an article. It's actually, somewhat, an addition to the Bernie Madoff issue. The article stated that there were two men, Jerome O'Hara and George Perez, that helped Madoff. These two men were computer programmers that helped Madoff make false documents and trading records for fifteen years. Eventually, they decided that they were going to far and they tried to delete the files that they made, but they forgot to delete the backup files. They also confronted Madoff but he gave each of them a twenty-five percent raise and a one-time bonus of more than $60,000. A while later, Madoff was arrested and the other two were charged for helping him.
On another story, a small company sued Microsoft and won, how random is that?!
On another story, a small company sued Microsoft and won, how random is that?!
Wednesday, January 6, 2010
Plan For Excel
Well, I actually hope that we do the same things that we did to prepare for Word. I'm looking forward to using the SAM program to learn how to use Excel.
After the talk that we had today, I realized that I know how to use Excel more than I thought I did. I know how to use the ribbon and other things that are nearly exactly like Word (e.g. protecting documents, font, etc.). I just don't quite know how to insert formulas and things that have to do with stuff like that (dang formulas...). Hmmm, I don't really know what else to say. I basically want to do the same procedures because I learned from them a lot easier than reading the Help section at Microsoft.com...So, I look forward to learning how to use Excel because I like numbers and spreadsheets...(I'm such a nerd, ha ha!)
After the talk that we had today, I realized that I know how to use Excel more than I thought I did. I know how to use the ribbon and other things that are nearly exactly like Word (e.g. protecting documents, font, etc.). I just don't quite know how to insert formulas and things that have to do with stuff like that (dang formulas...). Hmmm, I don't really know what else to say. I basically want to do the same procedures because I learned from them a lot easier than reading the Help section at Microsoft.com...So, I look forward to learning how to use Excel because I like numbers and spreadsheets...(I'm such a nerd, ha ha!)
Thursday, December 17, 2009
What I Know About Excel
I honestly don't know a lot about Excel. I basically only know how to insert text into the cells, I really don't know much about the formulas or anything like that. I may know some stuff about formatting and merging cells but that's pretty much it. I sort of know how to use the Mac version but not the PC version. Oh, I somewhat know how to use the spreadsheet in the NeoOffice program, but I think I may have forgotten...Well, sorry that I couldn't say much, because I really don't know much. I really liked using the spreadsheet in NeoOffice so I look forward to using Excel. For some reason, I like looking at all those endless squares...
Tuesday, December 15, 2009
Reflection of MCAS Test and Preparation
Well, first of all, I honestly think that my attention span was getting shorter and shorter, because I wouldn't catch about half of anything that was going on. I would only read about half of the paragraphs in the Shelly Cashman books because I would get lost if I kept reading. During the SAM practices, I didn't pay attention to the process no matter how hard I tried. When we posted the really long post in Blogger, I didn't quite know how to do most of the stuff, so I decided to stop messing around and I got down to business. I decided that the best way to learn everything fast, is to learn myself. I didn't search up any of the processes in the internet, I looked for everything using the Help button, and I searched around Word myself. I taught myself most of the tasks so it was embeded in my head by the time the test came around.
Now, the test was really easy for me, except for the one task that I missed. I had no idea how to "restrict permission so that only User2 can make changes". I spent about 5 minutes searching around, and when I thought that I finally found it, a dialog box came up that said that I needed to install certain software. I decided that I wasn't going to waste the rest of my test time trying to figure it out so I clicked Next instead of Skip.
Enough about me, for those who are going to take the test, I wanna give a few important details on how to pass this test.
1. If you don't know how to do a task, Skip it right away! Don't waste your time trying to figure it out, you can come back to it later.
2. Only hit Next if you are done with the question. If you want to come back to it later, hit Skip!
3. Don't worry about the time, it will take your mind off of the tasks if you constantly worry about the time.
4. Work at a steady pace but don't be a sloth.
5. Good Luck!
Now, the test was really easy for me, except for the one task that I missed. I had no idea how to "restrict permission so that only User2 can make changes". I spent about 5 minutes searching around, and when I thought that I finally found it, a dialog box came up that said that I needed to install certain software. I decided that I wasn't going to waste the rest of my test time trying to figure it out so I clicked Next instead of Skip.
Enough about me, for those who are going to take the test, I wanna give a few important details on how to pass this test.
1. If you don't know how to do a task, Skip it right away! Don't waste your time trying to figure it out, you can come back to it later.
2. Only hit Next if you are done with the question. If you want to come back to it later, hit Skip!
3. Don't worry about the time, it will take your mind off of the tasks if you constantly worry about the time.
4. Work at a steady pace but don't be a sloth.
5. Good Luck!
Monday, December 7, 2009
How To Do Certain Tasks In Word
How to...Find all occurances of a text and replace it with another word.
In the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Editing group. Click on the Find button (not the arrow) and a dialog box should pop up. Once it comes up, click on the Replace tab in the dialog box (it's in between Find and Go To). Once there, in Find what: type the text you want to replace. In Replace with: type the text that you want to take the place of the Find what: text. Then click Replace All, and close your dialog box.
How to...Insert a bookmark.
First, put your Insertion Point where you want your bookmark to be inserted. Go to the Insert tab and move your mouse over to the Links group. Click on the Bookmark button and a dialog box should pop up. In Bookmark name: type in the what you want your bookmark to be named. Remember that NO SPACES and NO PUNCTUATION are allowed in the name of a bookmark. Once you have the name, click the Add button, then close the dialog box.
How to...Navigate to a bookmark.
First, go to the Insert tab and move your mouse over to the Links group. Click on the Bookmark button and a dialog box should pop up. There should be at least one bookmark already in the box. Choose the one that you want and click on the Go To button. The window should move to where your bookmark is. Once you're satisfied, close the dialog box.
How to...Insert a horizontal watermark.
First, go to the Page Layout tab and move your mouse over to the Page Background group. Click on the Watermark button. If you don't want the ones that are already in the list, then go down to Custom Watermark... If you want a picture, click in the Picture watermark option. Make sure to have Washout checked if you want the picture to appear translucent. If you want text, click in the Text watermark option. There are many options to choose from. In this case, choose the Horizontal option and add any other things that you want. Click the Apply button, then click OK.
How to...Copy to the clipboard.
First, highlight what you want to copy. Then in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Clipboard group. Once there, open the Clipboard task pane and then click the Copy button. The text should appear in the task pane.
How to...Save a Word 2007 template.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Save As button (do not click on it). Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Word Template button, then choose where you want to save it and name it.
How to...Edit the document properties.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Prepare button. Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Properties button. A long box should appear under the Ribbon. You can edit the Title, Subject, Author, and more. Once you're done, click on the x at the top right corner of the box.
How to...Mark a document as Final.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Prepare button. Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Mark As Final button. Click Ok and if you need to save it, follow what you normally do to save a file.
How to...Insert a comment.
First, highlight what you want your comment to point to. Go to the Review tab and move your mouse over to the Comments group. Click on the New Comment button. You can add details to your comment in the red oval.
How to...Find the first occurence of certain text.
First, make sure that your Insertion Point is at the very beginning of your document. Then in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Editing group. Click on the Find button (not the arrow). A dialog box should pop up. In Find what: type in the text that you want to find. Click the Find Next button, and it should highlight the first occurence of the text that you put into Find what:.
How to...Modify a style.
First, in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Styles group. Click the Styles Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. Choose the one that you want to modify and click the arrow next to it. Choose the Modify... option. Now you can change that certain style as much as you want.
How to...Change a font color using the standard group.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the arrow next to the A, a menu should appear. You can now choose any color you want, but the Standard colors are at the bottom.
How to...Apply a style to text.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Styles group. You can now choose which style you want to add to your text.
How to...Change the font size.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. In the Font Size box, click on the arrow. Choose the size that you want. If the size that you want isn't there, then you can type in the specific size in the Font Size box.
How to...Condense/Expand character spacing.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. There are two tabs in the dialog box. The first is Font, the second is Character Spacing. Click on the Character Spacing tab. Then in the Spacing box, choose which type that you want: Normal, Expanded, or Condensed. Then, in the By box next to the Spacing box, you can choose by how much you want the certain text to be expanded or condensed.
How to...Set the before and after space of a paragraph.
First, highlight which paragraph you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Paragraph Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. In the Indents and Spacing tab in the dialog box, go down to the Spacing section. You can now change the points in the Before and After boxes.
How to...Clear all formatting.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Clear Formatting button (Last one in the first line).
How to...Add bullets to a paragraph.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the bullets button (First one in the first line).
How to...Modify a numbered list.
First, highlight the numbered list that you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the arrow for the numbered list button (Right next to the bullets button). Choose what you want to change the numbered list to. If you don't like what's there, then go to the Define New Number Format button and choose what you want.
How to...Change the paper size.
First, make sure that there is a section break in the page that you want to modify. Then go to the Page Layout tab and go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Size button and go down to More Paper Sizes. Then in the Apply to box, choose what you want to change. Then choose which Paper Size you want, then click OK.
How to...Sort text.
First, highlight what list you want to sort. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Sort button (Second to last in the first line). A dialog box comes up. Choose the options that you want, then click OK.
How to...Apply a multi level list.
First, highlight what you want to modify. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Multi Level list (Third in the first line). Choose which one you want.
How to...Promote/Demote items in a multi level list.
First, highlight which one you want to promote. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Next to the Multi Level List button, there should be the Decrease Indent (Promote) and Increase Indent (Demote) buttons. Choose the one that you want to apply.
How to...Apply a page border.
First, go to the Page Layout tab. Go t othe Page Background group and click on the Page Borders button. A dialog box should pop up. Choose the style, color, width and any other options to format the border. You can choose what to apply it to. Once you're done, click OK.
How to...Create a hyperlink.
First, select what you want to turn into a hyperlink (text or pictures). Right click on it and click on the Hyperlink button. In the Address box, type the URL then choose where you want to link the hyperlink to.
How to...Remove a section break.
First, put your insertion point in front of your section break and press the Delete key. You can do this to any type of break.
How to...Create a new style.
First, highlight the text that you want to save. Then in the Home tab, go to the Styles group. Click on the drop down menu button and then click on the Save Selection as a New Quick Style button. To create a new style from scratch, open the Styles Dialog Box. Click on the New Style button and put in any changes.
How to...Change a theme.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then go to the Page Layout tab. The Themes group contains the Themes button. Click on that and a drop down menu should pop up. Select the one that you want.
How to...Insert current date and header/footer.
First, go to the Insert tab. The Header & Footer group contains the Header and Footer buttons. Double click at the top or bottom of the page to quickly access your header or footer. The Text group contains the Date &Time button.
How to...Insert a page number.
First, go to the Insert tab and go to the Header & Footer group. Click on the Page Number button. Choose where you want to put it.
How to...Insert a page break.
First, go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Breaks button, then choose the Next Page button.
How to...Change page numbering so that the second page starts with one.
First, go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Page Setup Dialog Box Launcher button, then go to the Layout tab. Click on the Different first page check box found under Headers and footers.
How to...Change spacing between columns.
Go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Columns button and click on the More Columns button. A dialog box comes up. You can change the spacing in the Spacing box found under Width and spacing section. Click OK when you're done.
How to...Insert a bibliography.
First, go to the References tab, then go to the Citations & Bibliography group. Click on the Bibliography button then choose the bibliography that you want.
How to...Center table contents vertically and horizontally.
First, select the table, then go to the Layout tab under Table Tools. In the Alignment group, click on the button Align Center button.
How to...Insert a new row.
First, go to the Layout tab under Table Tools. In the Rows & Columns group, click either the Insert Above button or the Insert Below button (depending on where you want the row to go).
How to...Split a row.
First, put your insertion point in the row that you want to split. Then go to the Layout tab under Table Tools, and then go to the Merge group. Click on the Split Cells button. Put the number of columns to 1, then put the munber of rows to however many rows that you want. Click OK.
How to...Change a Quick Style Set.
First, go to the Home tab, then go to the Styles group. Click on the Change Styles button, then go to the Style Set option. Choose the one that you want.
How to...Insert special characters such as smiley faces without using the keyboard shortcuts.
First, go to the Insert tab, then go to the Symbols group. Click on the Symbol button, then click on the More Symbols button. Click on the Special Characters tab, then choose the one that you want. Click Insert, then click Close.
How to...Adjust the height and width of an image to a specific size without using the resizing handles on the image.
First, choose the picture that you want to resize. Go to the Format tab, under Drawing Tools. Go to the Size group, then choose a specific size by click up or down on the arrows or by putting in the number that you want.
How to...Apply styles to SmartArt graphics.
Choose the Smart Art that you want to modify, then go to the Design tab under SmartArt Tools. In the SmartArt Styles group, Choose the styles that you want to apply to the SmartArt.
How to...Insert SmartArt graphics.
First, go to the Insert tab, then go to the Illustrations group. Click on the SmartArt button, then choose the SmartArt that you want to insert. Click OK.
How to..Vertically and horizontally flip images.
First, choose the image that you want to flip. Go to the Format tab under Drawing Tools. In the Arrange group, click on the Rotate button. You can choose the Flip Vertical button or the Flip Horizontal button.
How to...Inspect the document.
First, click on the Microsoft Office Button, go to Prepare, then click on the Inspect Document button. A dialog box should come up. Select the check boxes that correspond to what information you want Word to find. Click Inspect.
How to...Remove personal information from document.
After you have clicked the Inspect button (by doin the task above), click on the Remove All button. Close the dialog box when you're done. Remember, that you may not be able to RESTORE the information after you have removed it.
How to...Scale image heights numerically.
First, go to the Format tab under Picture Tools. Go to the Size group, then click on the Size Group Dialog Box Launcher button. With the dialog box open, you can set whichever percentage you want the image to be scaled, which can be found under the Scale section in the dialog box.
How to...Delete breaks (page breaks, section breaks, etc.)
First, display the breaks (using the Show/Hide button), then put the insertion point in front of the break. On your keyboard, push the Delete key.
How to...Insert a table of contents and update it.
First, go to the References tab, then go to the Table of Contents group. Click on the Table of Contents button. Choose whichever one that you want from the list or create a custom one by clicking on the Insert Table of Contents... button. To update it, click on the Update Table button, found in the Table of Contents group.
How to...Modify AutoCorrect options.
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then click on the Word Options Dialog Box button. Click on the Proofing button, then click on the AutoCorrect Options button. Make any changes that you want to make.
How to...Compare documents and show changes (legal blackline option).
You can use the legal blackline option to compare documents and show what changed between them. Go to the Review tab, then go to the Compare group. Click on the Compare button, then choose the Compare option. Choose the documents that you would like to compare.
How to...Protect the document including with and without passwords, and restrict access (only allowing comments, etc.)
On the Review tab, go to the Protect group, then click on the Protect Document button. Click the Restrict Formatting and Editing button. In the task pane, click the Stop Protection button. In the Unprotect Document dialog box, type the password (if you assigned one). Then, select the part of the document that you want to be unrestricted. Choose who you want to make changes. Then, under Start enforcement, click the Yes, Start Enforcing Protection button. You can then assign a password if you'd like.
How to...Combine two documents into one new document.
First, go to the Review tab, then go to the Compare group. Click on the Compare button, then choose the Combine option. Choose the documents that you would like to combine.
In the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Editing group. Click on the Find button (not the arrow) and a dialog box should pop up. Once it comes up, click on the Replace tab in the dialog box (it's in between Find and Go To). Once there, in Find what: type the text you want to replace. In Replace with: type the text that you want to take the place of the Find what: text. Then click Replace All, and close your dialog box.
How to...Insert a bookmark.
First, put your Insertion Point where you want your bookmark to be inserted. Go to the Insert tab and move your mouse over to the Links group. Click on the Bookmark button and a dialog box should pop up. In Bookmark name: type in the what you want your bookmark to be named. Remember that NO SPACES and NO PUNCTUATION are allowed in the name of a bookmark. Once you have the name, click the Add button, then close the dialog box.
How to...Navigate to a bookmark.
First, go to the Insert tab and move your mouse over to the Links group. Click on the Bookmark button and a dialog box should pop up. There should be at least one bookmark already in the box. Choose the one that you want and click on the Go To button. The window should move to where your bookmark is. Once you're satisfied, close the dialog box.
How to...Insert a horizontal watermark.
First, go to the Page Layout tab and move your mouse over to the Page Background group. Click on the Watermark button. If you don't want the ones that are already in the list, then go down to Custom Watermark... If you want a picture, click in the Picture watermark option. Make sure to have Washout checked if you want the picture to appear translucent. If you want text, click in the Text watermark option. There are many options to choose from. In this case, choose the Horizontal option and add any other things that you want. Click the Apply button, then click OK.
How to...Copy to the clipboard.
First, highlight what you want to copy. Then in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Clipboard group. Once there, open the Clipboard task pane and then click the Copy button. The text should appear in the task pane.
How to...Save a Word 2007 template.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Save As button (do not click on it). Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Word Template button, then choose where you want to save it and name it.
How to...Edit the document properties.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Prepare button. Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Properties button. A long box should appear under the Ribbon. You can edit the Title, Subject, Author, and more. Once you're done, click on the x at the top right corner of the box.
How to...Mark a document as Final.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Prepare button. Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Mark As Final button. Click Ok and if you need to save it, follow what you normally do to save a file.
How to...Insert a comment.
First, highlight what you want your comment to point to. Go to the Review tab and move your mouse over to the Comments group. Click on the New Comment button. You can add details to your comment in the red oval.
How to...Find the first occurence of certain text.
First, make sure that your Insertion Point is at the very beginning of your document. Then in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Editing group. Click on the Find button (not the arrow). A dialog box should pop up. In Find what: type in the text that you want to find. Click the Find Next button, and it should highlight the first occurence of the text that you put into Find what:.
How to...Modify a style.
First, in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Styles group. Click the Styles Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. Choose the one that you want to modify and click the arrow next to it. Choose the Modify... option. Now you can change that certain style as much as you want.
How to...Change a font color using the standard group.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the arrow next to the A, a menu should appear. You can now choose any color you want, but the Standard colors are at the bottom.
How to...Apply a style to text.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Styles group. You can now choose which style you want to add to your text.
How to...Change the font size.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. In the Font Size box, click on the arrow. Choose the size that you want. If the size that you want isn't there, then you can type in the specific size in the Font Size box.
How to...Condense/Expand character spacing.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. There are two tabs in the dialog box. The first is Font, the second is Character Spacing. Click on the Character Spacing tab. Then in the Spacing box, choose which type that you want: Normal, Expanded, or Condensed. Then, in the By box next to the Spacing box, you can choose by how much you want the certain text to be expanded or condensed.
How to...Set the before and after space of a paragraph.
First, highlight which paragraph you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Paragraph Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. In the Indents and Spacing tab in the dialog box, go down to the Spacing section. You can now change the points in the Before and After boxes.
How to...Clear all formatting.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Clear Formatting button (Last one in the first line).
How to...Add bullets to a paragraph.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the bullets button (First one in the first line).
How to...Modify a numbered list.
First, highlight the numbered list that you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the arrow for the numbered list button (Right next to the bullets button). Choose what you want to change the numbered list to. If you don't like what's there, then go to the Define New Number Format button and choose what you want.
How to...Change the paper size.
First, make sure that there is a section break in the page that you want to modify. Then go to the Page Layout tab and go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Size button and go down to More Paper Sizes. Then in the Apply to box, choose what you want to change. Then choose which Paper Size you want, then click OK.
How to...Sort text.
First, highlight what list you want to sort. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Sort button (Second to last in the first line). A dialog box comes up. Choose the options that you want, then click OK.
How to...Apply a multi level list.
First, highlight what you want to modify. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Multi Level list (Third in the first line). Choose which one you want.
How to...Promote/Demote items in a multi level list.
First, highlight which one you want to promote. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Next to the Multi Level List button, there should be the Decrease Indent (Promote) and Increase Indent (Demote) buttons. Choose the one that you want to apply.
How to...Apply a page border.
First, go to the Page Layout tab. Go t othe Page Background group and click on the Page Borders button. A dialog box should pop up. Choose the style, color, width and any other options to format the border. You can choose what to apply it to. Once you're done, click OK.
How to...Create a hyperlink.
First, select what you want to turn into a hyperlink (text or pictures). Right click on it and click on the Hyperlink button. In the Address box, type the URL then choose where you want to link the hyperlink to.
How to...Remove a section break.
First, put your insertion point in front of your section break and press the Delete key. You can do this to any type of break.
How to...Create a new style.
First, highlight the text that you want to save. Then in the Home tab, go to the Styles group. Click on the drop down menu button and then click on the Save Selection as a New Quick Style button. To create a new style from scratch, open the Styles Dialog Box. Click on the New Style button and put in any changes.
How to...Change a theme.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then go to the Page Layout tab. The Themes group contains the Themes button. Click on that and a drop down menu should pop up. Select the one that you want.
How to...Insert current date and header/footer.
First, go to the Insert tab. The Header & Footer group contains the Header and Footer buttons. Double click at the top or bottom of the page to quickly access your header or footer. The Text group contains the Date &Time button.
How to...Insert a page number.
First, go to the Insert tab and go to the Header & Footer group. Click on the Page Number button. Choose where you want to put it.
How to...Insert a page break.
First, go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Breaks button, then choose the Next Page button.
How to...Change page numbering so that the second page starts with one.
First, go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Page Setup Dialog Box Launcher button, then go to the Layout tab. Click on the Different first page check box found under Headers and footers.
How to...Change spacing between columns.
Go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Columns button and click on the More Columns button. A dialog box comes up. You can change the spacing in the Spacing box found under Width and spacing section. Click OK when you're done.
How to...Insert a bibliography.
First, go to the References tab, then go to the Citations & Bibliography group. Click on the Bibliography button then choose the bibliography that you want.
How to...Center table contents vertically and horizontally.
First, select the table, then go to the Layout tab under Table Tools. In the Alignment group, click on the button Align Center button.
How to...Insert a new row.
First, go to the Layout tab under Table Tools. In the Rows & Columns group, click either the Insert Above button or the Insert Below button (depending on where you want the row to go).
How to...Split a row.
First, put your insertion point in the row that you want to split. Then go to the Layout tab under Table Tools, and then go to the Merge group. Click on the Split Cells button. Put the number of columns to 1, then put the munber of rows to however many rows that you want. Click OK.
How to...Change a Quick Style Set.
First, go to the Home tab, then go to the Styles group. Click on the Change Styles button, then go to the Style Set option. Choose the one that you want.
How to...Insert special characters such as smiley faces without using the keyboard shortcuts.
First, go to the Insert tab, then go to the Symbols group. Click on the Symbol button, then click on the More Symbols button. Click on the Special Characters tab, then choose the one that you want. Click Insert, then click Close.
How to...Adjust the height and width of an image to a specific size without using the resizing handles on the image.
First, choose the picture that you want to resize. Go to the Format tab, under Drawing Tools. Go to the Size group, then choose a specific size by click up or down on the arrows or by putting in the number that you want.
How to...Apply styles to SmartArt graphics.
Choose the Smart Art that you want to modify, then go to the Design tab under SmartArt Tools. In the SmartArt Styles group, Choose the styles that you want to apply to the SmartArt.
How to...Insert SmartArt graphics.
First, go to the Insert tab, then go to the Illustrations group. Click on the SmartArt button, then choose the SmartArt that you want to insert. Click OK.
How to..Vertically and horizontally flip images.
First, choose the image that you want to flip. Go to the Format tab under Drawing Tools. In the Arrange group, click on the Rotate button. You can choose the Flip Vertical button or the Flip Horizontal button.
How to...Inspect the document.
First, click on the Microsoft Office Button, go to Prepare, then click on the Inspect Document button. A dialog box should come up. Select the check boxes that correspond to what information you want Word to find. Click Inspect.
How to...Remove personal information from document.
After you have clicked the Inspect button (by doin the task above), click on the Remove All button. Close the dialog box when you're done. Remember, that you may not be able to RESTORE the information after you have removed it.
How to...Scale image heights numerically.
First, go to the Format tab under Picture Tools. Go to the Size group, then click on the Size Group Dialog Box Launcher button. With the dialog box open, you can set whichever percentage you want the image to be scaled, which can be found under the Scale section in the dialog box.
How to...Delete breaks (page breaks, section breaks, etc.)
First, display the breaks (using the Show/Hide button), then put the insertion point in front of the break. On your keyboard, push the Delete key.
How to...Insert a table of contents and update it.
First, go to the References tab, then go to the Table of Contents group. Click on the Table of Contents button. Choose whichever one that you want from the list or create a custom one by clicking on the Insert Table of Contents... button. To update it, click on the Update Table button, found in the Table of Contents group.
How to...Modify AutoCorrect options.
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then click on the Word Options Dialog Box button. Click on the Proofing button, then click on the AutoCorrect Options button. Make any changes that you want to make.
How to...Compare documents and show changes (legal blackline option).
You can use the legal blackline option to compare documents and show what changed between them. Go to the Review tab, then go to the Compare group. Click on the Compare button, then choose the Compare option. Choose the documents that you would like to compare.
How to...Protect the document including with and without passwords, and restrict access (only allowing comments, etc.)
On the Review tab, go to the Protect group, then click on the Protect Document button. Click the Restrict Formatting and Editing button. In the task pane, click the Stop Protection button. In the Unprotect Document dialog box, type the password (if you assigned one). Then, select the part of the document that you want to be unrestricted. Choose who you want to make changes. Then, under Start enforcement, click the Yes, Start Enforcing Protection button. You can then assign a password if you'd like.
How to...Combine two documents into one new document.
First, go to the Review tab, then go to the Compare group. Click on the Compare button, then choose the Combine option. Choose the documents that you would like to combine.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)

