How to...Format Cells.
Regular formatting.
Go to the Home tab. If you want to change the size, color, font, or you want to add borders or shade the cell, use the buttons found the the Font group. If you want to change the actual style, go to the Styles group and click on Cell Styles. Choose the style that you want. Now your data label should be easier to read.
Change row or column size.
Highlight the row(s) or column(s) that you want to change. Either go to the Home tab, to the Cells group, click Format and choose the action that you want or right-click on the column or row and choose either row height or column height.
Change the standard font for a workbook.
Click the Microsoft Office Button and then click Excel Options. Go to the Popular tab and in the Use this font and Font size list boxes pick your new font.
How to...Use and modify styles.
Using Styles.
To use a regular cell style go to the Home tab. Go to the Styles group and then click Cell Styles. Choose the style that you want. To use style a table go to the Home tab. Go to the Styles group and then click Format as Table. Choose the style that you want.
Conditional Formatting.
Conditional Formatting is a way to apply a certain style to a cell that meets certain criteria. To apply it, go to the Home tab. Go to the Styles group and click on Conditional Formattting. Choose the style that you want. These preset styles already have a rule to them but you can always modify that rule. To modify the rule, go to the Home tab, go to the Styles group and click on Conditional Formatting. Then go to Manage Rules. From the dialog box you can choose which rule you want to modify and then click Edit Rule. You can also delete rules and add new rules.
Create a Conditional Format.
Select the cells that to which you want to apply the format and then go to the Home tab, then to the Styles group. Click Conditional Formatting. Select which kind of condition that you want to create. In the dialog box, choose the rules that you want to apply to the format.
Creating New Styles.
To create new styles go to the Home tab, and then go to the Styles group. If you want to create a new table style click on Format as Table and then click on New Table Style. From there you can choose what you want to add to your table style. If you want to create a new cell style click on Cell Styles and then click on New Cell Style. From there you can choose what you want to add to your cell style.
How to...Use and Modify Themes.
Using Themes.
To apply a theme, go to the Page Layout tab and then go to the Themes group. Click on Themes and choose the theme that you want. To use theme colors go to the same group but click on Colors instead. To use theme fonts go to the same group but click on Fonts instead. To use theme effects go to the same group but click on Effects instead.
Creating Themes.
To create a new theme you need to format your document a certain way that you like. Once formatted, go to the Page Layout tab and then go to the Themes group. Click on Themes and then click on Save Current Theme. Your format scheme will be saved.
How to...Change Number Formatting.
To change the formatting of a number, highlight the cell and right-click. Go to Format Cells. In the dialog box you can choose which category you want to choose and then choose the specific formatting. Also, if you are choosing a formatting that includes decimals you can choose how many decimal places you want your number to have. Click OK to close.
To create a new numeric format, go to the Home tab, go to the Number group and click the Number group's dialog expander. In the dialog box, go to the Number tab, then in the Category list click Custom. This will display custom number formats in the Type list. Choose the base format that you want and modify it in the Type box.
How to...Add Images to Documents.
To add a picture, go to the Insert tab, and then in the Illustrations group, click Picture. You can also add clip art which is found in the same group.
To change the image's style, go to the Design tab (which appears when the image is selected).
When you want to resize the image you can click and drag the handle in any corner of the image.
Friday, March 12, 2010
Tuesday, March 2, 2010
What I Remember From Horrifying Excel Exam
Um...well here's what I remember:
1) One question asked for the average of a column based on another column which is based on another column.
2) One question asked to use the IF function to put in Yes or No if one cell was greater than a certain number which was based on whether or not another cell was greater than another number.
3) One question asked to copy and paste a comment.
4) One question asked to put a certain style on cells whose contents contained numbers greater than 950.
There was probably more but my brain blocked them out. Too horrifying...
1) One question asked for the average of a column based on another column which is based on another column.
2) One question asked to use the IF function to put in Yes or No if one cell was greater than a certain number which was based on whether or not another cell was greater than another number.
3) One question asked to copy and paste a comment.
4) One question asked to put a certain style on cells whose contents contained numbers greater than 950.
There was probably more but my brain blocked them out. Too horrifying...
Thursday, February 25, 2010
How to Name Groups of Data
Steps:
1. Select the cells that you want to include in your range.
2. Go to the Formulas tab and then go to the Defined Names group.
3. Click Define Name which will display the New Name dialog box.
4. Once there, type a name in the Name field.
5. Make sure that the cells that you selected are in the Refers to field.
6. If you want to add a comment, type it in the Comment field.
7. Choose if you want to make the name available in just one worksheet or the entire workbook.
8. Once your information is verified, click OK.
A faster way to name the range is to type the name in the Name box next to the formula bar.
Extras
If the range has a label that you want to use as the name follow these directions.
1. Go to the Formula tab and then go to the Defined Names group.
2. Click Create from Selection which will display the Create Names from Selection dialog box.
3. In the dialog box, choose which label you want according to where it is. For example, if the label in is the
top row, choose the top row check box.
If you want to change or manage the named ranges follow these directions.
1. Go to the Formula tab and then go to the Defined Names group.
2. Click Name manager which will display the Name Manager dialog box.
Now you can either choose New, Edit, Delete, or change the cell reference in the Refers to field.
1. Clicking New will open the New Name dialog box.
2. Clicking Edit will oopen the Edit Name dialog box which is a version of the New Name dialog box.
3. Click on a named range and click Delete to delete it.
4. In the Refers to field, you can change what cells you want to be included in the selected named range.
1. Select the cells that you want to include in your range.
2. Go to the Formulas tab and then go to the Defined Names group.
3. Click Define Name which will display the New Name dialog box.
4. Once there, type a name in the Name field.
5. Make sure that the cells that you selected are in the Refers to field.
6. If you want to add a comment, type it in the Comment field.
7. Choose if you want to make the name available in just one worksheet or the entire workbook.
8. Once your information is verified, click OK.
A faster way to name the range is to type the name in the Name box next to the formula bar.
Extras
If the range has a label that you want to use as the name follow these directions.
1. Go to the Formula tab and then go to the Defined Names group.
2. Click Create from Selection which will display the Create Names from Selection dialog box.
3. In the dialog box, choose which label you want according to where it is. For example, if the label in is the
top row, choose the top row check box.
If you want to change or manage the named ranges follow these directions.
1. Go to the Formula tab and then go to the Defined Names group.
2. Click Name manager which will display the Name Manager dialog box.
Now you can either choose New, Edit, Delete, or change the cell reference in the Refers to field.
1. Clicking New will open the New Name dialog box.
2. Clicking Edit will oopen the Edit Name dialog box which is a version of the New Name dialog box.
3. Click on a named range and click Delete to delete it.
4. In the Refers to field, you can change what cells you want to be included in the selected named range.
Wednesday, February 24, 2010
Chapter 6 Quiz
What is the simplest way to enter data in a worksheet? Click a cell and type a value.
Describe the purpose of AutoFill and FillSeries. AutoFill is used to automatically copy or continue data from the selected cells into the ones that you fill using the fill handle. FillSeries is used to continue recognized elements to make a series. For example, you have January and February. You use the fill handle to continue the series which will be March, April, and so on.
List the available AutoFill Options that appear when you add data using AutoFill.
1. Copy Cells 2. Fill Series 3. Fill Formatting Only 4. Fill Without Formatting
What is a Pick from Drop-down List for in a spreadsheet? It gives you a shortcut menu that includes recently used values so that you don’t have to type them again.
Where does the Paste Options button appear and what is it used for in a spreadsheet? It appears right next to data that you have just pasted. It allows you to choose if you want the data use the destination’s theme, or if you want it to only be the value. You can also choose if you want it to be the value but with number formatting, and you can also just paste the formatting only. Other options include Values and Source Formatting and Keep Source Column Widths.
How do you locate specific data on a worksheet? Use the Find & Select button. From there you can choose if you want to find a value or a certain type of formatting.
What does the Replace table enable you to do in a worksheet? When you enter a value in the Find what field you can use the Replace field to replace the value in the Find what field with the value in the Replace field.
List three proofing and research tools available in Excel 2007
1. Spelling Check 2. Thesaurus 3. Translator
How do you create a data table in Excel 2007? Select the first cell in the range of cells that you want to change into a data table. Make sure that there aren’t any empty cells, or extra cells next to the table. Go to the Format as table button and choose the style that you want. Excel will automatically change the range of cells into a data table.
What is the purpose of the Total row in a table? It allows you to sum up the data in your table. You can use the down arrow to choose which function you want the total row to use.
Describe the purpose of AutoFill and FillSeries. AutoFill is used to automatically copy or continue data from the selected cells into the ones that you fill using the fill handle. FillSeries is used to continue recognized elements to make a series. For example, you have January and February. You use the fill handle to continue the series which will be March, April, and so on.
List the available AutoFill Options that appear when you add data using AutoFill.
1. Copy Cells 2. Fill Series 3. Fill Formatting Only 4. Fill Without Formatting
What is a Pick from Drop-down List for in a spreadsheet? It gives you a shortcut menu that includes recently used values so that you don’t have to type them again.
Where does the Paste Options button appear and what is it used for in a spreadsheet? It appears right next to data that you have just pasted. It allows you to choose if you want the data use the destination’s theme, or if you want it to only be the value. You can also choose if you want it to be the value but with number formatting, and you can also just paste the formatting only. Other options include Values and Source Formatting and Keep Source Column Widths.
How do you locate specific data on a worksheet? Use the Find & Select button. From there you can choose if you want to find a value or a certain type of formatting.
What does the Replace table enable you to do in a worksheet? When you enter a value in the Find what field you can use the Replace field to replace the value in the Find what field with the value in the Replace field.
List three proofing and research tools available in Excel 2007
1. Spelling Check 2. Thesaurus 3. Translator
How do you create a data table in Excel 2007? Select the first cell in the range of cells that you want to change into a data table. Make sure that there aren’t any empty cells, or extra cells next to the table. Go to the Format as table button and choose the style that you want. Excel will automatically change the range of cells into a data table.
What is the purpose of the Total row in a table? It allows you to sum up the data in your table. You can use the down arrow to choose which function you want the total row to use.
Tuesday, February 23, 2010
Step by Step Chapter 6
Chapter 6 Intro
Excel allows you to visualize and present information using charts, graphics, and formatting.
You can organize data into tables.
Tables allow you to analyze and store data quickly and easily.
You can enter a data series; repeat one or more values; and control how Excel formats the cells, columns, and rows.
You can also check the spelling of worksheet text.
You can use a Thesaurus and translate words to other languages.
Entering and Revising Data
Easiest way to enter data is to click a cell and type a value.
You can enter a sequence by putting in the first element of the series and then using AutoFill to fill in the rest of the series.
Grab the fill handle at the bottom-right corner of the cell and drag it to where you want to fill your data.
FillSeries allows you to enter 2 values in a series and then use the fill handle to extend the series.
If you drag the handle up or to the left, Excel will use values before the value that you are using to fill. If you have January, the other values would be December, November, October, etc.
You can hold the Control key while you drag the handle so that the series won't be continued but instead copied.
Data entry techniques include: AutoComplete, AutoFill, FillSeries, Pick from Drop-down list, and the Control and Enter key combination.
Auto Complete finishes a word if a similar value exists when you type in the first few letters of a word.
Pick from Drop-down list gives you a shortcut menu that include recently used values that you could pick from.
To use Control+Enter combination you select a range of cells that you want to contain the same data, then type the data into the active cell and press Control+Enter.
The AutoFill Options appear next to data that you just added using AutoFill.
You can choose Copy Cells, Fill Series, Fill Formatting Only, Fill Without Formatting, or Fill Days, Weekdays, etc. from the AutoFill Options.
Copy Cells copies the contents of the selected cells and puts them into the area that was being filled.
Fill Series continues the series with the next item in the sequence.
Fill Formatting Only applies the formatting of the selected cells to the area that was being filled.
Fill Without Formatting is exactly like the Fill Series option only without the formatting.
Fill Days, Weekdays, etc. is the option that appears if you began the series with days, weekdays, or other.
Moving Data Withing a Workbook
You can move cells and worksheets.
When a cell is highlighted, it is called the active cell.
When multiple cells are selected, they are called a cell range.
You can cut, copy, delete, or change the format of selected cells.
You can move columns and rows.
You do that by clicking and dragging the column header or row header.
The Paste Options button appears next to data that you just copied and pasted.
Paste Options include: Use Destination Theme, Match Destination Formatting, Keep Source Formatting, Values Only, Values and Number Formatting, Values and Source Formatting, Keep Source Column Widths, and Formatting Only.
Finding and Replacing Data
Use that Find & Select button to easily find data in large worksheets.
You can go to the Options section to choose specific formatting to find.
The Find what field contains the value that you want to find.
The Find All button selects every cell that matches the value in the Find what field.
The Find Next button finds the next occurence of the value in the Find what field.
The Replace with field contains the value that you want to put in to replace the value in the Find what field.
The Replace All button replaces all of the values that match the Find what field.
The Replace button replace the next value that matches the Find what field.
The Options button displays additional options on what to Find and Replace.
The Format button displays the Find Format dialog box and allows you to find values based on formatting.
Within list box allows you choose whether to search in the active worksheet or the entire workbook.
The Search list box allows you to select whether to search by rows or columns.
The Look in list box allows you to select whether to search cell formulas or values.
The Match case check box makes sure that values have the same capitalization.
The Match entire cell contents check box makes sure that the values are exactly the same.
Correcting and Expanding Upon Worksheet Data
You should check and correct data that you enter.
You can use the spelling checker to automatically check spelling for you.
You can replace it with the proper word from the list of suggestions or ignore the mispelling.
You can add new words to the Excel custom dictionary.
You can use the Thesaurus to find synonyms and antonyms.
You can translate text from one language to another.
Defining a Table
You can format a range of cells as a table.
You can add total rows and other types of rows in the Design tab.
You need to make sure that there aren't any empty cell when creating a data table.
You also need the header and data below the header.
There also can't be any data next to the area that you want to change into a table.
To add data to a table, select a cell either below a row or to the right of a column and type a value.
You can turn of the AutoCorrect Options.
You can add rows and columns to a table.
You can delete rows and columns.
You can choose what function you want to use in the total row.
You use the down arrow that appears in the total row.
You can change the name of your table.
You can change your table back to regular text.
Excel allows you to visualize and present information using charts, graphics, and formatting.
You can organize data into tables.
Tables allow you to analyze and store data quickly and easily.
You can enter a data series; repeat one or more values; and control how Excel formats the cells, columns, and rows.
You can also check the spelling of worksheet text.
You can use a Thesaurus and translate words to other languages.
Entering and Revising Data
Easiest way to enter data is to click a cell and type a value.
You can enter a sequence by putting in the first element of the series and then using AutoFill to fill in the rest of the series.
Grab the fill handle at the bottom-right corner of the cell and drag it to where you want to fill your data.
FillSeries allows you to enter 2 values in a series and then use the fill handle to extend the series.
If you drag the handle up or to the left, Excel will use values before the value that you are using to fill. If you have January, the other values would be December, November, October, etc.
You can hold the Control key while you drag the handle so that the series won't be continued but instead copied.
Data entry techniques include: AutoComplete, AutoFill, FillSeries, Pick from Drop-down list, and the Control and Enter key combination.
Auto Complete finishes a word if a similar value exists when you type in the first few letters of a word.
Pick from Drop-down list gives you a shortcut menu that include recently used values that you could pick from.
To use Control+Enter combination you select a range of cells that you want to contain the same data, then type the data into the active cell and press Control+Enter.
The AutoFill Options appear next to data that you just added using AutoFill.
You can choose Copy Cells, Fill Series, Fill Formatting Only, Fill Without Formatting, or Fill Days, Weekdays, etc. from the AutoFill Options.
Copy Cells copies the contents of the selected cells and puts them into the area that was being filled.
Fill Series continues the series with the next item in the sequence.
Fill Formatting Only applies the formatting of the selected cells to the area that was being filled.
Fill Without Formatting is exactly like the Fill Series option only without the formatting.
Fill Days, Weekdays, etc. is the option that appears if you began the series with days, weekdays, or other.
Moving Data Withing a Workbook
You can move cells and worksheets.
When a cell is highlighted, it is called the active cell.
When multiple cells are selected, they are called a cell range.
You can cut, copy, delete, or change the format of selected cells.
You can move columns and rows.
You do that by clicking and dragging the column header or row header.
The Paste Options button appears next to data that you just copied and pasted.
Paste Options include: Use Destination Theme, Match Destination Formatting, Keep Source Formatting, Values Only, Values and Number Formatting, Values and Source Formatting, Keep Source Column Widths, and Formatting Only.
Finding and Replacing Data
Use that Find & Select button to easily find data in large worksheets.
You can go to the Options section to choose specific formatting to find.
The Find what field contains the value that you want to find.
The Find All button selects every cell that matches the value in the Find what field.
The Find Next button finds the next occurence of the value in the Find what field.
The Replace with field contains the value that you want to put in to replace the value in the Find what field.
The Replace All button replaces all of the values that match the Find what field.
The Replace button replace the next value that matches the Find what field.
The Options button displays additional options on what to Find and Replace.
The Format button displays the Find Format dialog box and allows you to find values based on formatting.
Within list box allows you choose whether to search in the active worksheet or the entire workbook.
The Search list box allows you to select whether to search by rows or columns.
The Look in list box allows you to select whether to search cell formulas or values.
The Match case check box makes sure that values have the same capitalization.
The Match entire cell contents check box makes sure that the values are exactly the same.
Correcting and Expanding Upon Worksheet Data
You should check and correct data that you enter.
You can use the spelling checker to automatically check spelling for you.
You can replace it with the proper word from the list of suggestions or ignore the mispelling.
You can add new words to the Excel custom dictionary.
You can use the Thesaurus to find synonyms and antonyms.
You can translate text from one language to another.
Defining a Table
You can format a range of cells as a table.
You can add total rows and other types of rows in the Design tab.
You need to make sure that there aren't any empty cell when creating a data table.
You also need the header and data below the header.
There also can't be any data next to the area that you want to change into a table.
To add data to a table, select a cell either below a row or to the right of a column and type a value.
You can turn of the AutoCorrect Options.
You can add rows and columns to a table.
You can delete rows and columns.
You can choose what function you want to use in the total row.
You use the down arrow that appears in the total row.
You can change the name of your table.
You can change your table back to regular text.
Wednesday, February 17, 2010
Step by Step: Chapter 5 - Section 4 & 5
Modify Worksheets
You can change the width of a column and the height of a row in a worksheet.
Increasing the width of a column or the height of a row can make it easier to modify data.
You can change the width of multiple columns at the same time. You can do the same for the height of rows.
You can insert rows and columns.
Inserting rows and/or columns can make a worksheet less crowded and easier to work with.
If you go to the Home tab, go to the Cells group, and then click the Insert button's down arrow, you can insert a row, a column, a cell, or a worksheet.
New rows are inserted above the active cell.
New columns are inserted to the left of the active cell.
When these items (not including the worksheet) are inserted in a worksheet with existing formatting, the Insert Options button appears.
You can choose to: Format Same as Above, Format Same as Below, Format Same as Left, Format Same as Right, and Clear Formatting.
Format Same as Above applies the format of the row above to the inserted row.
Format Same as Below applies the format of the row below to the inserted row.
Format Same as Left applies the format of the column to the left to the inserted column.
Format Same as Right applies the format of the column to the right to the inserted column.
Clear Formatting applies the default format to the inserted row or column.
You can delete rows and columns.
You right click on the row or column head and then click Delete.
You can hide multiple rows or columns.
Go to the Home tab, go to the Cells group, click the Format button, point to Hide & Unhide, and then click either Hide Rows or Hide Columns.
Do the same but click either Unhide Rows or Unhide Columns to unhide.
When you insert a cell, Excel asks you how you want the surrounding cells to be shifted when you insert the new cell.
You can delete cells.
You can move a group of cells to another location in your worksheet.
Select them, then point to the selection's border. When it changes to a four-way arrow, you can drag and drop it.
Customize the Excel 2007 Program Window
You can change the program window, which includes the user interface.
Zooming In on a Worksheet
You can increase the size of an object by zooming in.
You can change the zoom level by typing in a cusom magnification level in the Zoom control. At the bottom-right corner.
Clicking the plus sign (Zoom In control) increases the size by 10 percent.
Clicking the minus sign (Zoom Out control) decreases the size by 10 percent.
You can use the slider to change the size.
The View tab's Zoom group contains the Zoom to Selection button. It zooms into the contents of any selected cell (up to the maximum level of 400 percent)
Arranging Multiple Workbook Windows
You can have multiple windows open in one window of Excel.
You can easily switch between windows using the Switch Windows button.
You can have a formula in one workbook reference another workbook.
You don't need to update the data in the other workbook if the formual is referenced.
Adding Button to the Quick Access Toolbar
When you use certain commands more frequently than others, you can add them to the Quick Access Toolbar.
The Quick Access Toolbar is located at the top-left corner.
The drop-down arrow is where you can customize the Quick Access Toolbar.
You can go to the Microsoft Office Button and go to the Excel Options to change the Quick Access Toolbar.
You can also change the button position on the toolbar.
You can choose if you want your changes to be in all or just the current workbook.
You can change the width of a column and the height of a row in a worksheet.
Increasing the width of a column or the height of a row can make it easier to modify data.
You can change the width of multiple columns at the same time. You can do the same for the height of rows.
You can insert rows and columns.
Inserting rows and/or columns can make a worksheet less crowded and easier to work with.
If you go to the Home tab, go to the Cells group, and then click the Insert button's down arrow, you can insert a row, a column, a cell, or a worksheet.
New rows are inserted above the active cell.
New columns are inserted to the left of the active cell.
When these items (not including the worksheet) are inserted in a worksheet with existing formatting, the Insert Options button appears.
You can choose to: Format Same as Above, Format Same as Below, Format Same as Left, Format Same as Right, and Clear Formatting.
Format Same as Above applies the format of the row above to the inserted row.
Format Same as Below applies the format of the row below to the inserted row.
Format Same as Left applies the format of the column to the left to the inserted column.
Format Same as Right applies the format of the column to the right to the inserted column.
Clear Formatting applies the default format to the inserted row or column.
You can delete rows and columns.
You right click on the row or column head and then click Delete.
You can hide multiple rows or columns.
Go to the Home tab, go to the Cells group, click the Format button, point to Hide & Unhide, and then click either Hide Rows or Hide Columns.
Do the same but click either Unhide Rows or Unhide Columns to unhide.
When you insert a cell, Excel asks you how you want the surrounding cells to be shifted when you insert the new cell.
You can delete cells.
You can move a group of cells to another location in your worksheet.
Select them, then point to the selection's border. When it changes to a four-way arrow, you can drag and drop it.
Customize the Excel 2007 Program Window
You can change the program window, which includes the user interface.
Zooming In on a Worksheet
You can increase the size of an object by zooming in.
You can change the zoom level by typing in a cusom magnification level in the Zoom control. At the bottom-right corner.
Clicking the plus sign (Zoom In control) increases the size by 10 percent.
Clicking the minus sign (Zoom Out control) decreases the size by 10 percent.
You can use the slider to change the size.
The View tab's Zoom group contains the Zoom to Selection button. It zooms into the contents of any selected cell (up to the maximum level of 400 percent)
Arranging Multiple Workbook Windows
You can have multiple windows open in one window of Excel.
You can easily switch between windows using the Switch Windows button.
You can have a formula in one workbook reference another workbook.
You don't need to update the data in the other workbook if the formual is referenced.
Adding Button to the Quick Access Toolbar
When you use certain commands more frequently than others, you can add them to the Quick Access Toolbar.
The Quick Access Toolbar is located at the top-left corner.
The drop-down arrow is where you can customize the Quick Access Toolbar.
You can go to the Microsoft Office Button and go to the Excel Options to change the Quick Access Toolbar.
You can also change the button position on the toolbar.
You can choose if you want your changes to be in all or just the current workbook.
Tuesday, February 16, 2010
Step by Step Book
Intro
When Excel is opened, a blank workbook is used.
The blank workbook has 3 worksheets.
You can add or delete, hide or unhide, and copy or move worksheets.
You can change the document's properties.
You can customize the window to fit your style.
You can look at multiple workbook windows in just one window.
In Excel 2007, you don't have to look for some commands, you can just put them in the Quick Access Toolbar.
Create Workbooks
Create a new workbook if you want to store something that's not related to another workbook.
Default new workbooks have 3 worksheets.
You can add and delete worksheets.
You use the Microsoft Office Button to create a new workbook.
When you start Excel, a default new workbook opens.
You can use the Microsoft Office Button to open another workbook.
You should save workbooks after making changes.
When you save a file, you overwrite the previous copy of it.
You use Save As to save another copy of the original file.
You can save your file as a different format in the Save As dialog box.
You can save your file in a different location in the Save As dialog box.
You can add more information to make the file easier to find by changing the properties.
You can search for the title, author, keywords, etc.
In the Microsoft Office Button, go to Prepare and click Properties to change the Document Properties.
You can change more properties by going to the Document Properties arrow and then clicking on Advanced Properties.
In the Custom tab of the advanced Properties you can create your own property.
Modify Workbooks
Workbooks are used mainly for business activities.
They can record information on those activities.
Default new workbooks have 3 worksheets.
You can add and delete worksheets.
Worksheets' default names are Sheet1, Sheet2, Sheet3, and so on.
You can change worksheet names.
You can copy worksheets from one workbook to another.
You can move and copy worksheets in a workbook.
You can change the order of worksheets.
You can change the tab color of worksheets.
You can hide and unhide worksheets.
When Excel is opened, a blank workbook is used.
The blank workbook has 3 worksheets.
You can add or delete, hide or unhide, and copy or move worksheets.
You can change the document's properties.
You can customize the window to fit your style.
You can look at multiple workbook windows in just one window.
In Excel 2007, you don't have to look for some commands, you can just put them in the Quick Access Toolbar.
Create Workbooks
Create a new workbook if you want to store something that's not related to another workbook.
Default new workbooks have 3 worksheets.
You can add and delete worksheets.
You use the Microsoft Office Button to create a new workbook.
When you start Excel, a default new workbook opens.
You can use the Microsoft Office Button to open another workbook.
You should save workbooks after making changes.
When you save a file, you overwrite the previous copy of it.
You use Save As to save another copy of the original file.
You can save your file as a different format in the Save As dialog box.
You can save your file in a different location in the Save As dialog box.
You can add more information to make the file easier to find by changing the properties.
You can search for the title, author, keywords, etc.
In the Microsoft Office Button, go to Prepare and click Properties to change the Document Properties.
You can change more properties by going to the Document Properties arrow and then clicking on Advanced Properties.
In the Custom tab of the advanced Properties you can create your own property.
Modify Workbooks
Workbooks are used mainly for business activities.
They can record information on those activities.
Default new workbooks have 3 worksheets.
You can add and delete worksheets.
Worksheets' default names are Sheet1, Sheet2, Sheet3, and so on.
You can change worksheet names.
You can copy worksheets from one workbook to another.
You can move and copy worksheets in a workbook.
You can change the order of worksheets.
You can change the tab color of worksheets.
You can hide and unhide worksheets.
Sunday, January 31, 2010
The iPad
Well, for starters, I would say that the iPad is similar to a laptop (only you don't have to flip open a top). You can use the iPad to surf the Internet, listen to music and access the iTunes Music Store, look at pictures and create slideshows, use word processors like Pages, watch videos, read e-books, and use applications, like the baseball app. The cost of the WiFi iPad starts at $499 for 16 GB; 32 GB is $599; 64 GB is $699. For Wifi and 3G, an extra $130 is added to the price. The WiFi version will be released in March and the 3G version will be released in April.
Well, considering that Apple's stocks went down after the unveiling, the iPad hasn't been much of a good addition so far. Also, it doesn't have a camera, you can't multitask, Adobe Flash isn't supported and it isn't compatible with T-Mobile 3G (according to critics). I don't think it will stand out because you can pay for a laptop that can do more things at about $900 - $1,000; the 3G iPad is priced at about $800 - $900 and it does way less than a laptop.
I would rather have an iPod Touch or an iPhone because they can basically do what the iPad does, only they can fit in my pocket. The only things that I would basically be missing is the ability to use word processors and read e-books. Plus, I would be worried about theives all the time so I would rather not buy it.
Well, considering that Apple's stocks went down after the unveiling, the iPad hasn't been much of a good addition so far. Also, it doesn't have a camera, you can't multitask, Adobe Flash isn't supported and it isn't compatible with T-Mobile 3G (according to critics). I don't think it will stand out because you can pay for a laptop that can do more things at about $900 - $1,000; the 3G iPad is priced at about $800 - $900 and it does way less than a laptop.
I would rather have an iPod Touch or an iPhone because they can basically do what the iPad does, only they can fit in my pocket. The only things that I would basically be missing is the ability to use word processors and read e-books. Plus, I would be worried about theives all the time so I would rather not buy it.
Sunday, January 24, 2010
News Article
I got this article from the Internet. The source was MSNBC and the article was updated on January 24, 2010 at 1:51 a.m. The title is "Fewer teens are in rush to get driver's license" and it was found in the U.S. News section.
This article states that less teens are in a hurry to get their driver's license. Due to more ways of being able to socialize, not many teens make it a top priority. Compared to 44.7% of 16-year-olds that got their driver's licenses in 1988, 30.7% of 16-year-olds got their driver's licenses in 2008. Teens are now so preoccupied with social networking and texting they don't need to drive around to socialize with people. The article also mentioned that it's harder to get a driver's license nowadays. There are more requirements for getting a learner's permit and car insurance and gas prices are higher. However, there are a lot of parents that are relieved that they don't have to worry about irresponsible driving or extra costs.
This article is important to me because it lets me know that getting a driver's license isn't as important as I thought it was. I always thought that I should be getting a license soon just because others brag about getting their license, but then I thought "Wait a minute, I don't need a license. I can just text if I want to talk!". I also think that it's important to parents because it let's them know that their kids aren't as enthusiastic as they thought or that the insurance is really expensive. I don't know what else it could influence, but it seemed like a really interesting article to me (and my mom, who was reading it along with me, ha ha)
This article states that less teens are in a hurry to get their driver's license. Due to more ways of being able to socialize, not many teens make it a top priority. Compared to 44.7% of 16-year-olds that got their driver's licenses in 1988, 30.7% of 16-year-olds got their driver's licenses in 2008. Teens are now so preoccupied with social networking and texting they don't need to drive around to socialize with people. The article also mentioned that it's harder to get a driver's license nowadays. There are more requirements for getting a learner's permit and car insurance and gas prices are higher. However, there are a lot of parents that are relieved that they don't have to worry about irresponsible driving or extra costs.
This article is important to me because it lets me know that getting a driver's license isn't as important as I thought it was. I always thought that I should be getting a license soon just because others brag about getting their license, but then I thought "Wait a minute, I don't need a license. I can just text if I want to talk!". I also think that it's important to parents because it let's them know that their kids aren't as enthusiastic as they thought or that the insurance is really expensive. I don't know what else it could influence, but it seemed like a really interesting article to me (and my mom, who was reading it along with me, ha ha)
Friday, January 15, 2010
Excel Tasks 11-20
Enter Number
Choose the cell that you want to enter numbers into. You can just type the number that you want or you can go up to the Formula Bar and type it in.
Exit Excel
You can either go up to the Microsoft Office Button and click Exit Excel, or you can simply click the X at the far right corner.
Fill Series - Drag and Drop
Choose the cell that you want to be dragged and dropped. At the bottom right corner of the cell itself, when you put your mouse over it, the arrow turns into a cross. Once you see a cross, click and drag it to where you want the cell to be copied. The gray outline is where you can tell which cells you are applying the drag and drop method to.
Font Size
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to modify. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font Size arrow and choose the size that you want.
Fonts
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to modify. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font arrow and choose the Font that you want.Function - Autosum
Choose the cell(s) that you want to apply Autosum to. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Autosum button (it looks like a backwards 3/a strange looking E)
Go To
In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Find & Select button and choose Go To from the list. When the dialog box comes up, choose the on that you want to go to, then click OK.
Help - Display Help Contents
At the top right corner is a blue question mark. Click on it to bring up the Help dialog box. Once there, click on the Show Table of Contents button (the purple book icon). The side opens up to the Table of Contents options.
Help - Search
At the top right corner is a blue question mark. Click on it to bring up the Help dialog box. You can type what you want to search in the search box.
Modify Formula
In the Formula Bar, you can change the cells and formulas by typing in the cells that you want or the formula that you want.
Choose the cell that you want to enter numbers into. You can just type the number that you want or you can go up to the Formula Bar and type it in.
Exit Excel
You can either go up to the Microsoft Office Button and click Exit Excel, or you can simply click the X at the far right corner.
Fill Series - Drag and Drop
Choose the cell that you want to be dragged and dropped. At the bottom right corner of the cell itself, when you put your mouse over it, the arrow turns into a cross. Once you see a cross, click and drag it to where you want the cell to be copied. The gray outline is where you can tell which cells you are applying the drag and drop method to.
Font Size
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to modify. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font Size arrow and choose the size that you want.
Fonts
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to modify. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font arrow and choose the Font that you want.Function - Autosum
Choose the cell(s) that you want to apply Autosum to. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Autosum button (it looks like a backwards 3/a strange looking E)
Go To
In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Find & Select button and choose Go To from the list. When the dialog box comes up, choose the on that you want to go to, then click OK.
Help - Display Help Contents
At the top right corner is a blue question mark. Click on it to bring up the Help dialog box. Once there, click on the Show Table of Contents button (the purple book icon). The side opens up to the Table of Contents options.
Help - Search
At the top right corner is a blue question mark. Click on it to bring up the Help dialog box. You can type what you want to search in the search box.
Modify Formula
In the Formula Bar, you can change the cells and formulas by typing in the cells that you want or the formula that you want.
Excel Tasks 1-10
Apply Style
Choose the cell(s) that you want to apply the style to. In the Home tab, go to the Styles group. Click on the Cell Styles button and a list should come up. Click on the style that you want and Excel will automatically apply it to the active cell.
AutoCorrect
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then go down and click on the Excel Options button. When the dialog box comes up, click on the Proofing tab. Once you there, click on the AutoCorrect Options button. When that dialog box comes up, you can make any modifications that you want.When you're done, click OK.
Bold Cell Contents
Choose the cell(s) that you want to bold. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Bold button.
Cell Formatting - Remove
Choose the cell(s) that you want to remove the formatting from. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Clear button, then choose Clear Formats from the list.
Center Across Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to center. In the Home tab, go to the Cells group. Click on the Format button, then choose Format cells from the list. When the dialog box comes up, go to the Alignment tab. Under Text alignment, click on the arrow under Horizontal and choose Center Across Selection. Click OK when you're done.
Chart - Create
In the Insert tab, go to the Charts group. Choose what you want to enter (you can pick Column, Pie, Bar, etc.).
Clear Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to clear. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Clear button, then choose Clear Contents from the list.
Color Text
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to color. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Then click on the Font Color arrow. Choose the color that you want to apply to the text.
Copy Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to copy. In the Home tab, go to the Clipboard group. Click on the Copy button.
Create New Workbook Blank
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then choose New. Choose Blank Workbook, then click OK.
Choose the cell(s) that you want to apply the style to. In the Home tab, go to the Styles group. Click on the Cell Styles button and a list should come up. Click on the style that you want and Excel will automatically apply it to the active cell.
AutoCorrect
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then go down and click on the Excel Options button. When the dialog box comes up, click on the Proofing tab. Once you there, click on the AutoCorrect Options button. When that dialog box comes up, you can make any modifications that you want.When you're done, click OK.
Bold Cell Contents
Choose the cell(s) that you want to bold. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Bold button.
Cell Formatting - Remove
Choose the cell(s) that you want to remove the formatting from. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Clear button, then choose Clear Formats from the list.
Center Across Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to center. In the Home tab, go to the Cells group. Click on the Format button, then choose Format cells from the list. When the dialog box comes up, go to the Alignment tab. Under Text alignment, click on the arrow under Horizontal and choose Center Across Selection. Click OK when you're done.
Chart - Create
In the Insert tab, go to the Charts group. Choose what you want to enter (you can pick Column, Pie, Bar, etc.).
Clear Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to clear. In the Home tab, go to the Editing group. Click on the Clear button, then choose Clear Contents from the list.
Color Text
Choose the cell(s) whose text you want to color. In the Home tab, go to the Font group. Then click on the Font Color arrow. Choose the color that you want to apply to the text.
Copy Cells
Choose the cell(s) that you want to copy. In the Home tab, go to the Clipboard group. Click on the Copy button.
Create New Workbook Blank
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then choose New. Choose Blank Workbook, then click OK.
Tuesday, January 12, 2010
News Report
Well, first of all, I looked in CNN.com, and after an hour of looking through articles that didn't interest me, I finally found an article. It's actually, somewhat, an addition to the Bernie Madoff issue. The article stated that there were two men, Jerome O'Hara and George Perez, that helped Madoff. These two men were computer programmers that helped Madoff make false documents and trading records for fifteen years. Eventually, they decided that they were going to far and they tried to delete the files that they made, but they forgot to delete the backup files. They also confronted Madoff but he gave each of them a twenty-five percent raise and a one-time bonus of more than $60,000. A while later, Madoff was arrested and the other two were charged for helping him.
On another story, a small company sued Microsoft and won, how random is that?!
On another story, a small company sued Microsoft and won, how random is that?!
Wednesday, January 6, 2010
Plan For Excel
Well, I actually hope that we do the same things that we did to prepare for Word. I'm looking forward to using the SAM program to learn how to use Excel.
After the talk that we had today, I realized that I know how to use Excel more than I thought I did. I know how to use the ribbon and other things that are nearly exactly like Word (e.g. protecting documents, font, etc.). I just don't quite know how to insert formulas and things that have to do with stuff like that (dang formulas...). Hmmm, I don't really know what else to say. I basically want to do the same procedures because I learned from them a lot easier than reading the Help section at Microsoft.com...So, I look forward to learning how to use Excel because I like numbers and spreadsheets...(I'm such a nerd, ha ha!)
After the talk that we had today, I realized that I know how to use Excel more than I thought I did. I know how to use the ribbon and other things that are nearly exactly like Word (e.g. protecting documents, font, etc.). I just don't quite know how to insert formulas and things that have to do with stuff like that (dang formulas...). Hmmm, I don't really know what else to say. I basically want to do the same procedures because I learned from them a lot easier than reading the Help section at Microsoft.com...So, I look forward to learning how to use Excel because I like numbers and spreadsheets...(I'm such a nerd, ha ha!)
Thursday, December 17, 2009
What I Know About Excel
I honestly don't know a lot about Excel. I basically only know how to insert text into the cells, I really don't know much about the formulas or anything like that. I may know some stuff about formatting and merging cells but that's pretty much it. I sort of know how to use the Mac version but not the PC version. Oh, I somewhat know how to use the spreadsheet in the NeoOffice program, but I think I may have forgotten...Well, sorry that I couldn't say much, because I really don't know much. I really liked using the spreadsheet in NeoOffice so I look forward to using Excel. For some reason, I like looking at all those endless squares...
Tuesday, December 15, 2009
Reflection of MCAS Test and Preparation
Well, first of all, I honestly think that my attention span was getting shorter and shorter, because I wouldn't catch about half of anything that was going on. I would only read about half of the paragraphs in the Shelly Cashman books because I would get lost if I kept reading. During the SAM practices, I didn't pay attention to the process no matter how hard I tried. When we posted the really long post in Blogger, I didn't quite know how to do most of the stuff, so I decided to stop messing around and I got down to business. I decided that the best way to learn everything fast, is to learn myself. I didn't search up any of the processes in the internet, I looked for everything using the Help button, and I searched around Word myself. I taught myself most of the tasks so it was embeded in my head by the time the test came around.
Now, the test was really easy for me, except for the one task that I missed. I had no idea how to "restrict permission so that only User2 can make changes". I spent about 5 minutes searching around, and when I thought that I finally found it, a dialog box came up that said that I needed to install certain software. I decided that I wasn't going to waste the rest of my test time trying to figure it out so I clicked Next instead of Skip.
Enough about me, for those who are going to take the test, I wanna give a few important details on how to pass this test.
1. If you don't know how to do a task, Skip it right away! Don't waste your time trying to figure it out, you can come back to it later.
2. Only hit Next if you are done with the question. If you want to come back to it later, hit Skip!
3. Don't worry about the time, it will take your mind off of the tasks if you constantly worry about the time.
4. Work at a steady pace but don't be a sloth.
5. Good Luck!
Now, the test was really easy for me, except for the one task that I missed. I had no idea how to "restrict permission so that only User2 can make changes". I spent about 5 minutes searching around, and when I thought that I finally found it, a dialog box came up that said that I needed to install certain software. I decided that I wasn't going to waste the rest of my test time trying to figure it out so I clicked Next instead of Skip.
Enough about me, for those who are going to take the test, I wanna give a few important details on how to pass this test.
1. If you don't know how to do a task, Skip it right away! Don't waste your time trying to figure it out, you can come back to it later.
2. Only hit Next if you are done with the question. If you want to come back to it later, hit Skip!
3. Don't worry about the time, it will take your mind off of the tasks if you constantly worry about the time.
4. Work at a steady pace but don't be a sloth.
5. Good Luck!
Monday, December 7, 2009
How To Do Certain Tasks In Word
How to...Find all occurances of a text and replace it with another word.
In the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Editing group. Click on the Find button (not the arrow) and a dialog box should pop up. Once it comes up, click on the Replace tab in the dialog box (it's in between Find and Go To). Once there, in Find what: type the text you want to replace. In Replace with: type the text that you want to take the place of the Find what: text. Then click Replace All, and close your dialog box.
How to...Insert a bookmark.
First, put your Insertion Point where you want your bookmark to be inserted. Go to the Insert tab and move your mouse over to the Links group. Click on the Bookmark button and a dialog box should pop up. In Bookmark name: type in the what you want your bookmark to be named. Remember that NO SPACES and NO PUNCTUATION are allowed in the name of a bookmark. Once you have the name, click the Add button, then close the dialog box.
How to...Navigate to a bookmark.
First, go to the Insert tab and move your mouse over to the Links group. Click on the Bookmark button and a dialog box should pop up. There should be at least one bookmark already in the box. Choose the one that you want and click on the Go To button. The window should move to where your bookmark is. Once you're satisfied, close the dialog box.
How to...Insert a horizontal watermark.
First, go to the Page Layout tab and move your mouse over to the Page Background group. Click on the Watermark button. If you don't want the ones that are already in the list, then go down to Custom Watermark... If you want a picture, click in the Picture watermark option. Make sure to have Washout checked if you want the picture to appear translucent. If you want text, click in the Text watermark option. There are many options to choose from. In this case, choose the Horizontal option and add any other things that you want. Click the Apply button, then click OK.
How to...Copy to the clipboard.
First, highlight what you want to copy. Then in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Clipboard group. Once there, open the Clipboard task pane and then click the Copy button. The text should appear in the task pane.
How to...Save a Word 2007 template.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Save As button (do not click on it). Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Word Template button, then choose where you want to save it and name it.
How to...Edit the document properties.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Prepare button. Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Properties button. A long box should appear under the Ribbon. You can edit the Title, Subject, Author, and more. Once you're done, click on the x at the top right corner of the box.
How to...Mark a document as Final.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Prepare button. Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Mark As Final button. Click Ok and if you need to save it, follow what you normally do to save a file.
How to...Insert a comment.
First, highlight what you want your comment to point to. Go to the Review tab and move your mouse over to the Comments group. Click on the New Comment button. You can add details to your comment in the red oval.
How to...Find the first occurence of certain text.
First, make sure that your Insertion Point is at the very beginning of your document. Then in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Editing group. Click on the Find button (not the arrow). A dialog box should pop up. In Find what: type in the text that you want to find. Click the Find Next button, and it should highlight the first occurence of the text that you put into Find what:.
How to...Modify a style.
First, in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Styles group. Click the Styles Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. Choose the one that you want to modify and click the arrow next to it. Choose the Modify... option. Now you can change that certain style as much as you want.
How to...Change a font color using the standard group.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the arrow next to the A, a menu should appear. You can now choose any color you want, but the Standard colors are at the bottom.
How to...Apply a style to text.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Styles group. You can now choose which style you want to add to your text.
How to...Change the font size.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. In the Font Size box, click on the arrow. Choose the size that you want. If the size that you want isn't there, then you can type in the specific size in the Font Size box.
How to...Condense/Expand character spacing.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. There are two tabs in the dialog box. The first is Font, the second is Character Spacing. Click on the Character Spacing tab. Then in the Spacing box, choose which type that you want: Normal, Expanded, or Condensed. Then, in the By box next to the Spacing box, you can choose by how much you want the certain text to be expanded or condensed.
How to...Set the before and after space of a paragraph.
First, highlight which paragraph you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Paragraph Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. In the Indents and Spacing tab in the dialog box, go down to the Spacing section. You can now change the points in the Before and After boxes.
How to...Clear all formatting.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Clear Formatting button (Last one in the first line).
How to...Add bullets to a paragraph.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the bullets button (First one in the first line).
How to...Modify a numbered list.
First, highlight the numbered list that you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the arrow for the numbered list button (Right next to the bullets button). Choose what you want to change the numbered list to. If you don't like what's there, then go to the Define New Number Format button and choose what you want.
How to...Change the paper size.
First, make sure that there is a section break in the page that you want to modify. Then go to the Page Layout tab and go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Size button and go down to More Paper Sizes. Then in the Apply to box, choose what you want to change. Then choose which Paper Size you want, then click OK.
How to...Sort text.
First, highlight what list you want to sort. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Sort button (Second to last in the first line). A dialog box comes up. Choose the options that you want, then click OK.
How to...Apply a multi level list.
First, highlight what you want to modify. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Multi Level list (Third in the first line). Choose which one you want.
How to...Promote/Demote items in a multi level list.
First, highlight which one you want to promote. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Next to the Multi Level List button, there should be the Decrease Indent (Promote) and Increase Indent (Demote) buttons. Choose the one that you want to apply.
How to...Apply a page border.
First, go to the Page Layout tab. Go t othe Page Background group and click on the Page Borders button. A dialog box should pop up. Choose the style, color, width and any other options to format the border. You can choose what to apply it to. Once you're done, click OK.
How to...Create a hyperlink.
First, select what you want to turn into a hyperlink (text or pictures). Right click on it and click on the Hyperlink button. In the Address box, type the URL then choose where you want to link the hyperlink to.
How to...Remove a section break.
First, put your insertion point in front of your section break and press the Delete key. You can do this to any type of break.
How to...Create a new style.
First, highlight the text that you want to save. Then in the Home tab, go to the Styles group. Click on the drop down menu button and then click on the Save Selection as a New Quick Style button. To create a new style from scratch, open the Styles Dialog Box. Click on the New Style button and put in any changes.
How to...Change a theme.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then go to the Page Layout tab. The Themes group contains the Themes button. Click on that and a drop down menu should pop up. Select the one that you want.
How to...Insert current date and header/footer.
First, go to the Insert tab. The Header & Footer group contains the Header and Footer buttons. Double click at the top or bottom of the page to quickly access your header or footer. The Text group contains the Date &Time button.
How to...Insert a page number.
First, go to the Insert tab and go to the Header & Footer group. Click on the Page Number button. Choose where you want to put it.
How to...Insert a page break.
First, go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Breaks button, then choose the Next Page button.
How to...Change page numbering so that the second page starts with one.
First, go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Page Setup Dialog Box Launcher button, then go to the Layout tab. Click on the Different first page check box found under Headers and footers.
How to...Change spacing between columns.
Go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Columns button and click on the More Columns button. A dialog box comes up. You can change the spacing in the Spacing box found under Width and spacing section. Click OK when you're done.
How to...Insert a bibliography.
First, go to the References tab, then go to the Citations & Bibliography group. Click on the Bibliography button then choose the bibliography that you want.
How to...Center table contents vertically and horizontally.
First, select the table, then go to the Layout tab under Table Tools. In the Alignment group, click on the button Align Center button.
How to...Insert a new row.
First, go to the Layout tab under Table Tools. In the Rows & Columns group, click either the Insert Above button or the Insert Below button (depending on where you want the row to go).
How to...Split a row.
First, put your insertion point in the row that you want to split. Then go to the Layout tab under Table Tools, and then go to the Merge group. Click on the Split Cells button. Put the number of columns to 1, then put the munber of rows to however many rows that you want. Click OK.
How to...Change a Quick Style Set.
First, go to the Home tab, then go to the Styles group. Click on the Change Styles button, then go to the Style Set option. Choose the one that you want.
How to...Insert special characters such as smiley faces without using the keyboard shortcuts.
First, go to the Insert tab, then go to the Symbols group. Click on the Symbol button, then click on the More Symbols button. Click on the Special Characters tab, then choose the one that you want. Click Insert, then click Close.
How to...Adjust the height and width of an image to a specific size without using the resizing handles on the image.
First, choose the picture that you want to resize. Go to the Format tab, under Drawing Tools. Go to the Size group, then choose a specific size by click up or down on the arrows or by putting in the number that you want.
How to...Apply styles to SmartArt graphics.
Choose the Smart Art that you want to modify, then go to the Design tab under SmartArt Tools. In the SmartArt Styles group, Choose the styles that you want to apply to the SmartArt.
How to...Insert SmartArt graphics.
First, go to the Insert tab, then go to the Illustrations group. Click on the SmartArt button, then choose the SmartArt that you want to insert. Click OK.
How to..Vertically and horizontally flip images.
First, choose the image that you want to flip. Go to the Format tab under Drawing Tools. In the Arrange group, click on the Rotate button. You can choose the Flip Vertical button or the Flip Horizontal button.
How to...Inspect the document.
First, click on the Microsoft Office Button, go to Prepare, then click on the Inspect Document button. A dialog box should come up. Select the check boxes that correspond to what information you want Word to find. Click Inspect.
How to...Remove personal information from document.
After you have clicked the Inspect button (by doin the task above), click on the Remove All button. Close the dialog box when you're done. Remember, that you may not be able to RESTORE the information after you have removed it.
How to...Scale image heights numerically.
First, go to the Format tab under Picture Tools. Go to the Size group, then click on the Size Group Dialog Box Launcher button. With the dialog box open, you can set whichever percentage you want the image to be scaled, which can be found under the Scale section in the dialog box.
How to...Delete breaks (page breaks, section breaks, etc.)
First, display the breaks (using the Show/Hide button), then put the insertion point in front of the break. On your keyboard, push the Delete key.
How to...Insert a table of contents and update it.
First, go to the References tab, then go to the Table of Contents group. Click on the Table of Contents button. Choose whichever one that you want from the list or create a custom one by clicking on the Insert Table of Contents... button. To update it, click on the Update Table button, found in the Table of Contents group.
How to...Modify AutoCorrect options.
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then click on the Word Options Dialog Box button. Click on the Proofing button, then click on the AutoCorrect Options button. Make any changes that you want to make.
How to...Compare documents and show changes (legal blackline option).
You can use the legal blackline option to compare documents and show what changed between them. Go to the Review tab, then go to the Compare group. Click on the Compare button, then choose the Compare option. Choose the documents that you would like to compare.
How to...Protect the document including with and without passwords, and restrict access (only allowing comments, etc.)
On the Review tab, go to the Protect group, then click on the Protect Document button. Click the Restrict Formatting and Editing button. In the task pane, click the Stop Protection button. In the Unprotect Document dialog box, type the password (if you assigned one). Then, select the part of the document that you want to be unrestricted. Choose who you want to make changes. Then, under Start enforcement, click the Yes, Start Enforcing Protection button. You can then assign a password if you'd like.
How to...Combine two documents into one new document.
First, go to the Review tab, then go to the Compare group. Click on the Compare button, then choose the Combine option. Choose the documents that you would like to combine.
In the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Editing group. Click on the Find button (not the arrow) and a dialog box should pop up. Once it comes up, click on the Replace tab in the dialog box (it's in between Find and Go To). Once there, in Find what: type the text you want to replace. In Replace with: type the text that you want to take the place of the Find what: text. Then click Replace All, and close your dialog box.
How to...Insert a bookmark.
First, put your Insertion Point where you want your bookmark to be inserted. Go to the Insert tab and move your mouse over to the Links group. Click on the Bookmark button and a dialog box should pop up. In Bookmark name: type in the what you want your bookmark to be named. Remember that NO SPACES and NO PUNCTUATION are allowed in the name of a bookmark. Once you have the name, click the Add button, then close the dialog box.
How to...Navigate to a bookmark.
First, go to the Insert tab and move your mouse over to the Links group. Click on the Bookmark button and a dialog box should pop up. There should be at least one bookmark already in the box. Choose the one that you want and click on the Go To button. The window should move to where your bookmark is. Once you're satisfied, close the dialog box.
How to...Insert a horizontal watermark.
First, go to the Page Layout tab and move your mouse over to the Page Background group. Click on the Watermark button. If you don't want the ones that are already in the list, then go down to Custom Watermark... If you want a picture, click in the Picture watermark option. Make sure to have Washout checked if you want the picture to appear translucent. If you want text, click in the Text watermark option. There are many options to choose from. In this case, choose the Horizontal option and add any other things that you want. Click the Apply button, then click OK.
How to...Copy to the clipboard.
First, highlight what you want to copy. Then in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Clipboard group. Once there, open the Clipboard task pane and then click the Copy button. The text should appear in the task pane.
How to...Save a Word 2007 template.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Save As button (do not click on it). Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Word Template button, then choose where you want to save it and name it.
How to...Edit the document properties.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Prepare button. Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Properties button. A long box should appear under the Ribbon. You can edit the Title, Subject, Author, and more. Once you're done, click on the x at the top right corner of the box.
How to...Mark a document as Final.
First, go to the Microsoft Office Button and move your mouse down to the Prepare button. Extra options should appear to the side. Click on the Mark As Final button. Click Ok and if you need to save it, follow what you normally do to save a file.
How to...Insert a comment.
First, highlight what you want your comment to point to. Go to the Review tab and move your mouse over to the Comments group. Click on the New Comment button. You can add details to your comment in the red oval.
How to...Find the first occurence of certain text.
First, make sure that your Insertion Point is at the very beginning of your document. Then in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Editing group. Click on the Find button (not the arrow). A dialog box should pop up. In Find what: type in the text that you want to find. Click the Find Next button, and it should highlight the first occurence of the text that you put into Find what:.
How to...Modify a style.
First, in the Home tab, move your mouse over to the Styles group. Click the Styles Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. Choose the one that you want to modify and click the arrow next to it. Choose the Modify... option. Now you can change that certain style as much as you want.
How to...Change a font color using the standard group.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the arrow next to the A, a menu should appear. You can now choose any color you want, but the Standard colors are at the bottom.
How to...Apply a style to text.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Styles group. You can now choose which style you want to add to your text.
How to...Change the font size.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. In the Font Size box, click on the arrow. Choose the size that you want. If the size that you want isn't there, then you can type in the specific size in the Font Size box.
How to...Condense/Expand character spacing.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Font Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. There are two tabs in the dialog box. The first is Font, the second is Character Spacing. Click on the Character Spacing tab. Then in the Spacing box, choose which type that you want: Normal, Expanded, or Condensed. Then, in the By box next to the Spacing box, you can choose by how much you want the certain text to be expanded or condensed.
How to...Set the before and after space of a paragraph.
First, highlight which paragraph you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Paragraph Dialog Box Launcher and the dialog box should pop up. In the Indents and Spacing tab in the dialog box, go down to the Spacing section. You can now change the points in the Before and After boxes.
How to...Clear all formatting.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Font group. Click on the Clear Formatting button (Last one in the first line).
How to...Add bullets to a paragraph.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the bullets button (First one in the first line).
How to...Modify a numbered list.
First, highlight the numbered list that you want to change. Then in the Home tab, go to the Paragraph group. Click on the arrow for the numbered list button (Right next to the bullets button). Choose what you want to change the numbered list to. If you don't like what's there, then go to the Define New Number Format button and choose what you want.
How to...Change the paper size.
First, make sure that there is a section break in the page that you want to modify. Then go to the Page Layout tab and go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Size button and go down to More Paper Sizes. Then in the Apply to box, choose what you want to change. Then choose which Paper Size you want, then click OK.
How to...Sort text.
First, highlight what list you want to sort. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Sort button (Second to last in the first line). A dialog box comes up. Choose the options that you want, then click OK.
How to...Apply a multi level list.
First, highlight what you want to modify. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Click on the Multi Level list (Third in the first line). Choose which one you want.
How to...Promote/Demote items in a multi level list.
First, highlight which one you want to promote. Then in the Home tab go to the Paragraph group. Next to the Multi Level List button, there should be the Decrease Indent (Promote) and Increase Indent (Demote) buttons. Choose the one that you want to apply.
How to...Apply a page border.
First, go to the Page Layout tab. Go t othe Page Background group and click on the Page Borders button. A dialog box should pop up. Choose the style, color, width and any other options to format the border. You can choose what to apply it to. Once you're done, click OK.
How to...Create a hyperlink.
First, select what you want to turn into a hyperlink (text or pictures). Right click on it and click on the Hyperlink button. In the Address box, type the URL then choose where you want to link the hyperlink to.
How to...Remove a section break.
First, put your insertion point in front of your section break and press the Delete key. You can do this to any type of break.
How to...Create a new style.
First, highlight the text that you want to save. Then in the Home tab, go to the Styles group. Click on the drop down menu button and then click on the Save Selection as a New Quick Style button. To create a new style from scratch, open the Styles Dialog Box. Click on the New Style button and put in any changes.
How to...Change a theme.
First, highlight what you want to change. Then go to the Page Layout tab. The Themes group contains the Themes button. Click on that and a drop down menu should pop up. Select the one that you want.
How to...Insert current date and header/footer.
First, go to the Insert tab. The Header & Footer group contains the Header and Footer buttons. Double click at the top or bottom of the page to quickly access your header or footer. The Text group contains the Date &Time button.
How to...Insert a page number.
First, go to the Insert tab and go to the Header & Footer group. Click on the Page Number button. Choose where you want to put it.
How to...Insert a page break.
First, go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Breaks button, then choose the Next Page button.
How to...Change page numbering so that the second page starts with one.
First, go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Page Setup Dialog Box Launcher button, then go to the Layout tab. Click on the Different first page check box found under Headers and footers.
How to...Change spacing between columns.
Go to the Page Layout tab, then go to the Page Setup group. Click on the Columns button and click on the More Columns button. A dialog box comes up. You can change the spacing in the Spacing box found under Width and spacing section. Click OK when you're done.
How to...Insert a bibliography.
First, go to the References tab, then go to the Citations & Bibliography group. Click on the Bibliography button then choose the bibliography that you want.
How to...Center table contents vertically and horizontally.
First, select the table, then go to the Layout tab under Table Tools. In the Alignment group, click on the button Align Center button.
How to...Insert a new row.
First, go to the Layout tab under Table Tools. In the Rows & Columns group, click either the Insert Above button or the Insert Below button (depending on where you want the row to go).
How to...Split a row.
First, put your insertion point in the row that you want to split. Then go to the Layout tab under Table Tools, and then go to the Merge group. Click on the Split Cells button. Put the number of columns to 1, then put the munber of rows to however many rows that you want. Click OK.
How to...Change a Quick Style Set.
First, go to the Home tab, then go to the Styles group. Click on the Change Styles button, then go to the Style Set option. Choose the one that you want.
How to...Insert special characters such as smiley faces without using the keyboard shortcuts.
First, go to the Insert tab, then go to the Symbols group. Click on the Symbol button, then click on the More Symbols button. Click on the Special Characters tab, then choose the one that you want. Click Insert, then click Close.
How to...Adjust the height and width of an image to a specific size without using the resizing handles on the image.
First, choose the picture that you want to resize. Go to the Format tab, under Drawing Tools. Go to the Size group, then choose a specific size by click up or down on the arrows or by putting in the number that you want.
How to...Apply styles to SmartArt graphics.
Choose the Smart Art that you want to modify, then go to the Design tab under SmartArt Tools. In the SmartArt Styles group, Choose the styles that you want to apply to the SmartArt.
How to...Insert SmartArt graphics.
First, go to the Insert tab, then go to the Illustrations group. Click on the SmartArt button, then choose the SmartArt that you want to insert. Click OK.
How to..Vertically and horizontally flip images.
First, choose the image that you want to flip. Go to the Format tab under Drawing Tools. In the Arrange group, click on the Rotate button. You can choose the Flip Vertical button or the Flip Horizontal button.
How to...Inspect the document.
First, click on the Microsoft Office Button, go to Prepare, then click on the Inspect Document button. A dialog box should come up. Select the check boxes that correspond to what information you want Word to find. Click Inspect.
How to...Remove personal information from document.
After you have clicked the Inspect button (by doin the task above), click on the Remove All button. Close the dialog box when you're done. Remember, that you may not be able to RESTORE the information after you have removed it.
How to...Scale image heights numerically.
First, go to the Format tab under Picture Tools. Go to the Size group, then click on the Size Group Dialog Box Launcher button. With the dialog box open, you can set whichever percentage you want the image to be scaled, which can be found under the Scale section in the dialog box.
How to...Delete breaks (page breaks, section breaks, etc.)
First, display the breaks (using the Show/Hide button), then put the insertion point in front of the break. On your keyboard, push the Delete key.
How to...Insert a table of contents and update it.
First, go to the References tab, then go to the Table of Contents group. Click on the Table of Contents button. Choose whichever one that you want from the list or create a custom one by clicking on the Insert Table of Contents... button. To update it, click on the Update Table button, found in the Table of Contents group.
How to...Modify AutoCorrect options.
Click on the Microsoft Office Button, then click on the Word Options Dialog Box button. Click on the Proofing button, then click on the AutoCorrect Options button. Make any changes that you want to make.
How to...Compare documents and show changes (legal blackline option).
You can use the legal blackline option to compare documents and show what changed between them. Go to the Review tab, then go to the Compare group. Click on the Compare button, then choose the Compare option. Choose the documents that you would like to compare.
How to...Protect the document including with and without passwords, and restrict access (only allowing comments, etc.)
On the Review tab, go to the Protect group, then click on the Protect Document button. Click the Restrict Formatting and Editing button. In the task pane, click the Stop Protection button. In the Unprotect Document dialog box, type the password (if you assigned one). Then, select the part of the document that you want to be unrestricted. Choose who you want to make changes. Then, under Start enforcement, click the Yes, Start Enforcing Protection button. You can then assign a password if you'd like.
How to...Combine two documents into one new document.
First, go to the Review tab, then go to the Compare group. Click on the Compare button, then choose the Combine option. Choose the documents that you would like to combine.
Friday, November 13, 2009
Sites Good For Word 2007 Training
Here is a website that I found that is free and good for learning how to use Word 2007.
http://baycongroup.com/wlesson0.htm
This wesite is very good for beginners. It covers a lot of topics, both simple and complex. Although it only has pictures and explanations, it has important buttons highlighted and labeled for quick remembering. It also offers basics for the earlier versions of Windows, along with Excel, Powerpoint, Photoshop, Flash, and more.
http://baycongroup.com/wlesson0.htm
This wesite is very good for beginners. It covers a lot of topics, both simple and complex. Although it only has pictures and explanations, it has important buttons highlighted and labeled for quick remembering. It also offers basics for the earlier versions of Windows, along with Excel, Powerpoint, Photoshop, Flash, and more.
Monday, November 9, 2009
Add Bullets To A Paragraph
First of all, adding bullets to a paragraph is pretty easy. The first thing that you should do is highlight the paragraph that you want to add bullets to. You do this by clicking and dragging the mouse over the text that you want to highlight. Next, move your mouse over to the Paragraph group in the Home tab. The first two buttons in the group should be the ones to add bullets or numbers to your parargraph. The first button has dots with lines next to them, while the second one has numbers and lines next to them. The first button is the bullets button, so click on it. Your paragraph should be bulleted now.
Friday, November 6, 2009
Doing The Tasks
The file that I completed the tasks for was Corey's file. It was fairly easy to do since it was just one paragraph, but some tasks weren't easy to follow through. Some of the grammar wasn't right so I had to second guess at times. As for the part where we had to insert a bookmark, the bookmark was already there. The document also looked like it wasn't reviewed before it was sent out. However, it was a ,somewhat, complete file because it wasn't missing any of the tasks. I also found the document to be really short, so the task of putting in a bookmark seemed useless. My main advice would be to review, check the grammar, and make it enjoyable. (There's always the Spelling & Grammar button in the Review tab!)
Wednesday, November 4, 2009
Plan For Today
Today, Celeste and I will finish up the document needed to complete the tasks. We already finished it but we are changing some things around so that the document can work for the tasks that we are going to input. We are also filling in the blanks for the tasks. We are pretty sure that we'll be done by today.
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)

